Travel Gear

Welcome to my travel gear page!
Read my post about packing light if the concept is new to you, or if you don’t believe it’s possible.

I will update this page regularly, and date it.
I need to add more photos, so check in later for that.
All gear is current as of January 2024.

I don’t spend a ton of money on gear and clothes, because I don’t want to be crushed if I lost my pack. I put too many hours of research, trial and error into these things, but the actual investment isn’t crazy. Everything can be easily replaced.

My photo: This is everything I carry. One week or three months, doesn’t matter.

Pack
I use a 20L backpack, a brilliant design by Nashville Pack. It's absolutely perfect.

I met these guys at Trail Days, an annual event for Appalachian Trail thru hikers. I’ve only hiked sections of the AT, but the people at Nashville Pack are triple crowners, having completed all three major thru hiking trails in the USA (AT, CDT, PCT) - multiple times. This pack stood that test.

When I saw it, I knew it was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a bulletproof roll-top pack, with plenty extra stuff sack storage on the exterior. The best feature of this pack is the shoulder straps that gently form to your body, rather than foam that cuts into your shoulders like most packs have. This pack has no zippers. By far the most expensive piece of travel gear I have (not counting my phone). Worth every penny.

Down jacket
The puffy. A crucial piece of warm weather gear for the lightweight traveler. Decathlon makes an elite down jacket for a price tag that doesn't make me sick. I've worn this jacket in the backcountry, traveled through Europe with it, and beaten it up for daily use back home. You won't find a better puffy for that price. The warmth-to-weight ratio is outstanding. A down jacket is a must-have. I prefer one with a hood and pockets, but you can find some without those.

Rain jacket
I refuse to pay top dollar for an ultralight rain shell. This nearly weightless piece of plastic shouldn't cost more than dinner. That's why I have a budget-friendly frogg toggs. This thing has kept me dry. It does its job. But you do pay for what you get. It has no pockets, it's not stylish, and it's not extremely durable. I prefer the oversized baggy build of this jacket, because I can wear layers underneath and still have plenty of wiggle room.

Hoody/fleece
If I was to lose my pack, I must admit that I'd be devastated to lose my Melanzana fleece hoody. This thing has traveled the world with me, kept me cozy in airplanes and on mountaintops. We've had a great run together, going on strong for almost six years now. In my rare selfies, I'm probably wearing the melly. I'll never leave home without a trusty mid-layer.

Long-sleeve button-ups
I bring two. One is colorful, thin and breathable for warm weather. The other is black and slightly thicker material. Both can be worn for a night out. It's nice to have two. When one needs a wash, I can wear the other one. No special brand - both of these were thrift store finds.

T-shirts
On my latest trip I carried three t-shirts. One black, one blue-gray, one mustard-brown. All three can be worn for a workout, or for casual. It's a t-shirt, I don't overthink it. Sometimes I'll also bring a short-sleeve collared shirt. This is a luxury item for me. Not necessary.

If you've read a hundred travel blogs (like I have), you've heard the benefits of wool preached again and again. Read my section on socks for more info about wool. I haven't yet made the switch to wool shirts for travel. Cotton’s downside is it will need to be washed far more often than wool. There's no doubt about that. I’m sure I’ll make the switch soon enough.

Shorts
I bring two pairs on warm-weather trips. Anthem Athletics shorts with zipper pockets, all black. I've been wearing these shorts for workouts for years. The best I've ever had. I love the deep zipper pockets, keeping my stuff secure.

The other pair is a 5-inch athletic fit all-day style shorts. These are versatile, good for any occasion. I can wear them during active exploration, or pair with a button-up for a clean look. It has a hidden zipper pocket too, where I keep my wallet and locker key.

I prefer 5-inch shorts. I'm a short man (and I have nice legs). Short shorts is a better look for me than longer shorts that hover around the knees.

Pants
This decision depends on the climate. Knowing I'd start my trip in Portugal and Spain during warmer months, I brought one pair of pants. Thin nylon hiking pants from Kuhl that also look good enough to wear with a button-up. These served me well for a month.

When I flew from Barcelona to Budapest, I knew I'd need a pair of jeans for the colder weather. At a thrift store I snagged a pair of black jeans, a canvas coat and a blue beanie for 23 Euro.

Whatever I might need, I can always find in my destinations. I don't pack winter clothes (besides a puffy and hoody) when I won't be in winter climates for the first few weeks of my trip. I'll just buy what I need in my new cold environment. There's no sense in lugging around clothes I'll never wear for weeks at a time.

Undies
I carry four pairs. They're easy to wash, and dry overnight. David Archy is the most comfortable I've ever had. I've been wearing them for years. They're made from a bamboo material. Incredibly soft and breathable. Downside, they don't dry quickly - faster than cotton, but not as fast as wool. I haven't made the switch to wool just yet, because I love them so much.

Socks
If you don't have wool socks, you don't know what you're missing. Wool keeps you warm when it's cold, and keeps you cool when it's hot. Wool dries quickly. Wool is naturally anti-odor, anti-bacterial. Throw away all of your cotton socks and replace them with wool. I can wear a single pair for two or three days before needing to switch to a clean pair.

I bring four pairs. I prefer a thinner lightweight over the thicker midweight hiking sock. I wear only crew socks, which goes above the ankle. Black socks, black shoes. That's my thing! Darn Tough makes the best socks I’ve ever found.

Shoes
I bring one pair of shoes when I travel. The shoes on my feet. I don't have a need for sandals or boots or a nice pair of dress shoes. The weight and space savings of having no shoes in my pack is enormous. Shoes are bulky, heavy, annoying to pack. Avoid this at all costs if you can.

On my latest trip I wore the exact same pair of shoes for 72 days straight. They didn't smell great during my final week, but they kept my feet safe and happy. Even if I was convinced I needed a second pair of shoes, I’d do everything in my power to persuade myself to bring only one pair.

I wear barefoot/minimalist shoes. They have no cushioned sole, which allows my feet to feel the texture of the ground, sending that constant signal of information to my brain. They have a wider toe box, which allows my toes to spread out and party.

My favorite shoes of all time are the Vivobarefoot Primus trail runners, all black. My every day shoes. I'm on my fourth pair. They can almost double as sandals. When I go to the beach, I can put them on with wet and sandy feet, and easily clean out the sand, and they'll dry quickly.

All black socks and shoes can pair with anything, and they're far less flashy than bright and colorful running shoes. I can get away with wearing these to a nice dinner.

Even if that’s not true, it doesn’t matter. As a lightweight traveler, you have stop caring what anyone thinks about how you dress. Just be respectful of religious places that have a dress code.

Belt
This decision is easy. I pack my lightest weight belt. I weigh the few belts I own and pick the lightest one. My leather belt looks good, but it's heavy. Nobody will notice or care about the style of belt I wear. Always go light!

Hats
A standard snapback cap is non-negotiable for me. When the sun is out, I'm wearing a hat. Lately I've been really digging this black nylon hat my sister got me for my birthday. Easy to wash and dries quickly. But most importantly, it protects my face from sunburns, and it keeps the hair out of my face on windy days.

I'll bring a beanie only if it will be cold in my destination. Or just buy one there. Beanies might be the most common item you'll find in stores in cold climates. Tourist shops sell them by the thousands. Who doesn't want a big brightly-colored beanie that says SLOVAKIA in all caps?

Buff
This amazing piece of fabric doubles as a scarf and an eye mask for sleep. Your neck or ears are cold? The buff can handle that. Sunlight waking you up too early? Buff has you covered. I found mine on sale at REI years ago. Outdoor Research brand. It's black, wool and has a few holes. I'll rock this thing til it dies. The buff has many uses! Everyone should have a wool buff.

Bandana
Remember what I said about the common appearance of my melly hoody in selfies? Warm weather selfies will often feature the appearance of a bandana around my neck. Lately I've been carrying a red one, but the color will change from time to time. The bandana keeps my neck protected from the sun. It adds color to my often-black wardrobe. It can clean the sweat off my face or the dirt off my hands. It can wipe up coffee spills on a train. Another versatile travel item.

Fanny pack
I bought a specific hip-belt pack (made by Waymark Gear Co.) because it can fit my Kindle and bluetooth keyboard. It's an odd shape compared to most packs, which makes it ideal for awkward rectangular-shaped items. I'll bring it on a run to hold my phone, wallet, snacks and locker key so they're not bouncing around in my pockets.

The "man purse" is common in Europe. I don't understand what exactly all these men need to be carrying around at all times. No judgement, I'm just curious. The fanny pack (worn cross-body) is trending right now, so maybe fashion explains this. It's rare that I have a need for it, but it can definitely be handy on occasion.

Phone
Arguably the most important piece of travel gear (besides the obvious passport). I have the Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 4. This phone unfolds to reveal a larger screen similar to a tablet. It also has a standard front screen, which is slightly narrower than a regular phone.

I'll likely never make the switch back to a regular phone, I love it so much. The Fold is here to stay. Internet browsing, reading articles and books, looking at my travel photos, searching on Google Maps - everything is better on the big screen. Since it's two phones, the battery lasts twice as long. I can go a full 24 hours on one charge, sometimes longer.

I buy sim cards in destinations, or snag an eSIM online. I’ll write a separate post about this.

Books
On my latest trip, I brought my Kindle. I love my eReader, but I won't carry it on a trip again. I find myself using my phone to read books more often than the Kindle when I travel. Phone is always in my pocket, so books are always accessible. The Kindle will continue to be my go-to reader at home. It's rare for me to travel with paper books. I can't justify the weight when I have 50 books on my Kindle and phone.

Earbuds
Samsung Galaxy Buds2 Pro. High quality headphones are new for me. I've had these for half a year now, and I finally understand the hype of earbuds. Tiny, can fit in my pocket, virtually weightless, amazing audio quality, good enough noise cancelling.

The only downside is buds can be easy to misplace. I lost an earbud on a flight. When our plane landed, the kind woman behind me found it under her seat. I got lucky!

Keyboard
Microsoft makes a bluetooth keyboard that is foldable, lightweight and portable. I pair this with my phone to create a "mini laptop" for writing. I unfold my phone and unfold the keyboard, and in seconds I can write comfortably. Not as good as a real laptop, but it works. And saves me a few pounds, which is huge.

Toiletries
No need to deep dive on exactly what I carry, but I will note a few things. My beard trimmer is designed for pets. It’s tiny, and powered by a single battery, which allows me to avoid carrying an additional charger. I tossed my other trimmers at home in favor of this one. Another good option.

A shampoo soap bar is non-negotiable for me. I always carry one. I use this amazing little Matador pouch to keep it dry, clean and separate from everything else. I don’t know how they do it, but the dry-through tech really works.

My hair brush is lightweight, and it’s undefeated. This thing backs down to no tangle.

Towel
I love my little travel towel. Maybe the most useful travel item I own. Some hostels don’t provide towels, or charge a fee for use. The fee is usually insignificant, but why pay for a towel when I can bring one that is nearly weightless, packs down smaller than a candy bar and dries insanely fast? Soak with warm water and soap, rinse, and it’s clean in an instant. I like the loop for easy hang-dry. Made by PackTowl (hand size, 16 x 36 in).

I also have a tiny rag that must be military-grade, because it’s the most astounding thing I own, it probably costs pennies to make and I got it for free. It comes prepackaged in a little cube, add water and it expands. It weighs nothing, dries in minutes, and it’s durable and easy to clean. Not a crucial piece of gear, but nice to have handy.

Ear plugs
The best sleep system, especially for hostels, is an eye mask and ear plugs. It blows my mind that some travelers might dismiss this. The best ear plugs are silicone, not foam. They won’t fall out in the middle of the night, and they block out more noise.

Cork massage ball
Made by Rawlogy. It keeps my feet happy after tons of daily walking.

Charger
Anker 30W phone charger with a 6-foot cable, with an extra tiny cable for the folding keyboard and LED light.

Travel adapter
Mogics international power adapter. Incredibly tiny and lightweight. It has worked in all different outlet types I've tried.

Mini LED light
A gift from my dad. This little thing has a built in magnet. It comes in handy in hostels at night or early mornings when I need a bit of light, but don't want to use my phone flashlight. I wouldn't bring this if it wasn't nearly weightless.

Heroclip
The Heroclip Mini is a unique little tool. The basic function, a carabiner. The second function, an additional hook with a rubber tip that enables you to hang over the top of a door, ledge, counter. Comes in handy in bathrooms when the hooks are missing or broken, and I need to hang my pack or jacket off the floor.

Water bottle
I’d like to avoid drinking out of plastic, but for travel it’s too convenient. The weight of a metal bottle is outrageous, and an ultralight titanium bottle is too expensive for me to risk losing. One liter of water by itself weighs 1kg or 2.2 pounds. Adding a full pound with a metal bottle makes no sense to me when plastic weighs only a few grams.

In hot weather, I’ll bring a 1 liter bottle. I tie paracord on the bottleneck for easy carry. In cooler temps, I’ll carry a smaller one (550 to 700ml). I try to avoid buying water bottles. It’s a fun game for me to see how long I can make one bottle last. I refill where it’s convenient. Water fountains, tap water when it’s safe, asking restaurant staff to fill my bottle.

Passport
I don't use a travel belt, or have some crazy system of securing my passport. I just treat it like I would with any other valuable item, like my phone or wallet. Be careful with it, lock it up when necessary.

Lock
I always take advantage of lockers at hostels. I never leave my pack sitting out in the room when I'm not there. I'll leave some clothes hanging around, leave the phone charger plugged in, but never my important belongings.

I prefer a lock with a key, rather than a combination. Fussing with a combo in the dark is no fun. Key is easy, and I don't lose a key. If you tend to lose things, then combo might be better.

Organization system
Travelers often make two mistakes - not having a storage system at all, or using too many packing cubes made from heavy material.

Here’s my system:
16L Granite Gear zipp sack for all my clothes
Drawstring sack for socks & undies (fits inside the clothes sack)
Basic toiletries bag
Small pouch for all tiny things (lock, chargers, extra cash, backup credit cards, sim cards, etc.)
Ziploc plastic baggie for snacks
Plastic bag with holes for dirty laundry (thanks, Marriott)

Items that are stored loose inside my pack - puffy, melly, fanny pack.
Items that are stored loose outside my pack - hat, rain jacket, bandana, water bottle.
Everything else has a cozy home.

These sacks and pouches are all extremely lightweight items. The minimal additional weight is worth it for ease of packing and unpacking. Organization is so important!

Carry less, eliminate stress and go farther!

Credit to Tynan for inspiring this post, and for three items that I would’ve never found myself - my phone, travel adapter and beard trimmer.

Photo 1: Everything I carry when I travel - at a park in Lisbon, Portugal.
Photo 2: Pink Panther got me - a selfie with the Berlin Wall, Germany.
Photo 3: Somewhere on a train - maybe Austria?

Drop your email for the newest posts from Logan Lets Go!

Share